top of page
Search
Writer's picturelogicalmom

Am I a racist?

I mentioned in my previous blog post that I've recently had family members (on both sides) call me a racist. My husband has even defended his side of the family in their assertion. (Ouch!)


So why do they think that I'm a racist?


Have they witnessed an injustice that I have served on another race? Have they heard me speak or act in way that would lead an independent mind to believe that I think myself better than someone else solely based on race?


The answer to these questions is no. A very clear and resounding no.


Their assertion is exclusively based on two facts: (1) I was born with white skin. (2) I agree with the conservative blacks who speak out against the idea of systemic racism.


Does systemic racism exist? The conservative black voices say that it doesn't. They use facts, statistics, and black history to prove this point. (Not emotions.)


Before we dive into systemic racism from a conservative vantage, I want to clarify one thing.


If I don't believe that systemic racism exists, does that then mean that I don't believe that racism exists? No. I know that racism exists and am heartbroken by it. And unfortunately, I realize that racism will always exist because we live in a sinful and broken world.


Ok, so now that that's out of the way - what does it mean to not believe in systemic racism? It means that I do not subscribe to the mainstream idea peddled by the liberals that systemic racism is the cause and perpetuating force for racism.


Have you considered that the people of color who are living in poverty, lack access to quality education, and live in crime stricken neighborhoods are in areas that have (and have had for many years) democrat politicians and leadership?


Wait a minute. I thought it was the progressive democrats who are angry and protesting with people of color because they want to support them?


But do they support them? Do their actions match their words? Because it seems that they've had their chance to make real change in the black community--for many years. And they haven't excelled at this task.


So then, is it helpful for me to proclaim my "white privilege," loudly state that "black lives matter," and condemn anyone who won't get on board with these messages? In my opinion, no.


I think what is really helpful is volunteering your time, talents, and resources to organizations in your own community that actually support people of color.


I also think we need to be aware of who we are voting for. I won't say much more on this, but I'll conclude with this: the democrats have had their chance.


I'm still processing through all of these things, but I'm certainly not sold on the "white privilege" and "black lives matter" narrative. I think it's divisive.


And just like my "woke" liberal friends, I am also committing myself to listening and learning from black voices.


But not just one side.


The conservative black voices have a really compelling message. It's worth listening to and I think it should be heard--not silenced and shamed.


Do you know who they feel oppressed by? It isn't the white people in their communities. It's the liberal democrat politicians and leaders in their cities who have failed to make meaningful changes in the black community.


If you want to learn more about this, a few places I'm learning from are linked below:



I'm going to write more about the Christian view on racism in a different blog post, I wanted to first introduce the ideas of the conservative black voice and whether systemic racism is real for any readers who aren't familiar with those ideas.


Thanks for reading!




3 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page